Tags

, , ,


Sorry for the lack of posts this week. It has not been an easy one for me.

Have you ever gotten to a point where you are just plain fed up with your physical circumstances? For me, right now, it is my health. I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism almost 15 years ago. And then to top it off, after what I thought was a not so serious auto accident, I have struggled for a few years with almost constant pain and all too frequent flair ups of inflammation and frustrating fatigue – and that is on medication! I have often talked about trying to find more natural means to deal with all the things going on.

Then I started uncontrollably gaining weight and seeing the other thyroid symptoms rise up again, and I decided I had just plain had it with it all! So, I did what any normal, reasonable, lost somewhere in the midst of menopause, dolphin personality woman would do. I decided to go off all my medications in protest!

Go ahead and pick yourself up off the floor and stop chiding me for being so irresponsible! Now don’t you deny your response either! I know – I would have done the same thing if I was on your side of this blog. However, let me say in my own defense, I did it the right way. I tapered off – I didn’t go cold turkey. I talked to my doctor’s nurse and warned them. I added a couple of healthy supplements that would at least address the inflammation and support the thyroid in the process. And… I steeled myself to expect the worse. Which is exactly what I got. Fatigue so overwhelming I couldn’t even enjoy a half-day out with my daughter. Brittle nails and dull lifeless hair. Skin so dry that it’s a really good thing we live on this side of the mountains, otherwise no-one would know where the desert stopped and my hands began. Dry, painful eyes so bad that I couldn’t even bear my contacts for more than a few hours. Almost uncontrollable chills and shivers. And more pain.

So, I finally gave in and asked my husband to pray for me and my pitiful sad-faced body. And I called my doctor and made an appointment and went in and plead my case. No more synthetic thyroid. I want to really address the root problem, not mask it by addressing the lab results alone. And he agreed. I started the new meds yesterday – and believe it or not, between Ken’s praying for me and the natural thyroid replacement – I am feeling much better. So much so that yesterday I overdid it. So tonight, I am dragging a bit and had to walk more slowly than usual for our “evening constitutional” – but I don’t think Janet minded too much!

Yes, I will do better. I am thinking and planning ahead so I don’t overdo it quite so badly. I will grow my doings as my strength and endurance increases, instead of plowing full speed ahead and paying for it later. I’m thick, but I do usually catch on without too much fuss.

We serve and worship such an amazing God. His love and mercy and grace are the only things that keep me on track. And so I choose to claim His promises and speak His truths. And I choose to hear what Yahweh said through Isaiah:

O Jacob, how can you say the Lord does not see your troubles?
O Israel, how can you say God ignores your rights?
Have you never heard?
Have you never understood?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
the Creator of all the earth.
He never grows weak or weary.
No one can measure the depths of his understanding.
He gives power to the weak
and strength to the powerless.
Even youths will become weak and tired,
and young men will fall in exhaustion.
But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.
They will soar high on wings like eagles.
They will run and not grow weary.
They will walk and not faint.

Isaiah 40:27-31 (NLT)

And I say:

Lord, You alone are the everlasting God, Creator of all the earth and all that is in it – including me and my body! You don’t grow weak or weary! Even though I could never fully measure the depth of Your understanding, I believe and trust that you give power to the weak, and I am weak. You give strength to the powerless, and I am truly without power in myself. Even though those who are younger and more able than I will become weak and tired and exhausted, I choose to trust in YOU and therefore I know You will give me new strength and make me to soar high on wings like the eagles I love to watch and marvel over. I will run this race and not grow weary. I will walk before You every day of life and not faint! Praise the name of Yahweh!

When you read Yahweh’s promises and proclamations to His people, what do you say?

__________________________________________________________

PS: Yahweh is so funny. As I was finishing up with my writing tonight, Ken came in all excited about a piece the Lord had inspired him to work on and finish up tonight. Something new I had never seen. Are you ready for this?

Rise up high on wings like eagles...

Rise up high on wings like eagles...

He showed me this picture, and I made him sit down and read today’s blog. Doesn’t Yahweh just take your breath away sometimes?! I love how He works and leads and confirms. And how He takes two and brings them together to become one in Him – one in heart, one in mind, and one in spirit! We praise Your Name and Your work in our lives!

