Tags

, , ,


We are having so much fun with Granger! He is one loved little boy! And he is now moving out the baby puppy stage and into the exploring, stretching his boundaries stage. And I am amazed at how Yahweh uses a puppy to show me myself, just like He has used my kids over the years.

Granger_Lauree_9326_OPT

He is such a treasure, and usually such a snuggly, loving little guy. And I love how he lights up whenever he sees me! His tail goes 90 miles a minute and he jumps with anticipation – talk about making you feel like a million bucks – even if he is “just” a puppy! And then there are the times when out of the blue, he just decides he’s going to run and ignore me. He’s only done it a few times, but it is so frustrating when he doesn’t listen and takes off across the yard looking for a place to sneak out of the fence. It lets me know I can’t have him out and about without a leash – just in case. I hate having to put that leash on him, and he definitely doesn’t like it on him, but for his own safety and well-being, it is necessary, because he is not trained and disciplined yet.

Yet. He is still young. He hasn’t learned to hear my voice and pay attention. Sometimes I wonder what my excuse is, when I fail to hear my Father’s voice and instantly pay attention to Him. Or worse, when I know what He has spoken and I don’t instantly obey Him. Is He as disappointed in my behavior as I am in Granger’s. Yes, I give Granger a great deal of grace because he is just a puppy. And, yes, I know my Father does the same for me – He is fully aware of my humanity. And yet, even in my human frailness, He sees me as complete in His Son, fully dressed in Him! And so I choose to wait on Him and trust in His salvation and His completed work in me – not because I deserve it, but because it is His nature and character and purpose for each of us. Truly there is HOPE in HIM alone!

The Lord is good to those who depend on him,
to those who search for him.
So it is good to wait quietly
for salvation from the Lord.
And it is good for people to submit
at an early age
to the yoke of his discipline:
Let them sit alone in silence
beneath the Lord’s demands.
Let them lie face down in the dust,
for there may be hope at last.
Let them turn the other cheek to those who strike them
and accept the insults of their enemies.

Lamentations 3:25-30 (NLT)

Granger’s love and anticipation got me to thinking how much pleasure we bring to the Father’s heart when we respond to Him the same way – with great anticipation of His intimate Presence with us. When we have the right perspective and view of Yahweh, how could we respond to Him in any other way? Do we see His character for what it is – holy, high above anything we could ever begin to imagine, filled with light and wonder and power and majesty? Have you ever thought His unlimited creativity and the fact that He breathed everything we know and the things we don’t even know about yet into existence?

Have you ever thought about how you greet the Father? Do you come grudgingly or gladly? Do you come with dread or anticipation? Do you come with fear or love? Think about His amazing greatness and love and see if it changes how you greet the Almighty, the One Who has chosen to make us His children!

