Tags

, , ,


Psalm 103

1 Let all that I am praise the Lord;
with my whole heart, I will praise his holy name.
2 Let all that I am praise the Lord;
may I never forget the good things he does for me.

The first question that hits me here is this: Is my heart whole, so that I can praise the LORD with my whole heart? Have I allowed Him to reveal the brokenness of my heart and my life? Will I sit before Him long enough to allow Him to show me my real self or do I run away and deny that I am as broken as I am? If I refuse to see my brokenness through His eyes, I lose out on seeing Him mend my broken heart and make it whole again. And I lose out on being able to praise Him with my WHOLE heart!

3 He forgives all my sins
and heals all my diseases.
4 He redeems me from death
and crowns me with love and tender mercies.
5 He fills my life with good things.
My youth is renewed like the eagle’s!

Have I allowed Him to bring His healing touch into my life through His forgiveness and adoption as His CHILD? “HE redeems me from death…” Whatever is done in my strength and ability leads to death. And yet, He desires to redeem me from that death; that can only happen as I realize that the only things that count for righteousness come through faith in the completed work of His Son. Jesus life in me is the only true life. His LIFE renews everything! His life comes to each of us with love and tender mercies – not judgment and condemnation!

7 He revealed his character to Moses
and his deeds to the people of Israel.

Would you rather know the character of God or just His deeds? Do you know the difference? Moses was willing to come into the Presence of God, knowing that it would bring about the death of his “self”. He chose death in order to be able to walk in real LIFE – the life that only God can give. The people of Israel on the other hand refused to come into the Presence of God. They wanted someone else to do it. They demanded written laws and regulations that THEY could follow – on their own. They refused to die to themselves and were left with only seeing God’s deeds, not His character. I don’t know about you, but my heart’s cry is to BE in the Presence of my Heavenly Father and to Know HIM! I don’t want to be content with just knowing ABOUT Him.

11 For his unfailing love toward those who fear him
is as great as the height of the heavens above the earth.
12 He has removed our sins as far from us
as the east is from the west.
13 The Lord is like a father to his children,
tender and compassionate to those who fear him.
14 For he knows how weak we are;
he remembers we are only dust.

Do you know and walk in the salvation He has provided for you? Do you know His unfailing love? Do you know the LORD as your Father? Do you know that your sins have been forgiven and removed as far as the east is from the west? Have you ever stopped to think about what that means – as far as the east is from the west? If you start out going north, eventually you will cross the North Pole and change directions. North leads to south and south leads to north. But, if you are traveling east, you will always be traveling east, you never change directions. That is how far our sins have been removed from us – infinitely far!

O, what a Savior!

Let all that I am praise the Lord.

