Tags

, , ,


Isaiah 9

The people who walk in darkness
will see a great light.
For those who live in a land of deep darkness,
a light will shine.

Do you know what it is like to walk in darkness? Have you ever been caught unprepared when the power goes off and you’re stumbling around trying to find something to light your way? What a wonderful relief it is to finally be able to see again and to not stub your toe and whack your head!

For you will break the yoke of their slavery
and lift the heavy burden from their shoulders.
You will break the oppressor’s rod…

What is it that enslaves you? For many years, the thing that enslaved me was my desire to belong and the feeling that I didn’t belong anywhere. I knew I was loved, but I always felt out-of-place somehow, I was different, but being different separated me from those I loved. But, honestly, I could not have explained that to anyone until just a few years ago. God was faithful to bring me to the end of my self and then wait until I came to Him and asked Him to reveal to me the brokenness that kept me enslaved. FAITHFUL! Our Father is so faithful and true to His Word and to His Character!

God Almighty yearns for us to experience and relish our freedom in Him! He longs to pour out His power in our lives so that we can be pure and holy – just as He is! How does this happen, you ask?

For a child is born to us,
a son is given to us.
The government will rest on his shoulders.
And he will be called:
Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

That Holy Child lived a perfect life and grew into the Man, Jesus, the Messiah, Who died for you and me ~ so that, He could live IN each of us through the Holy Spirit and live OUT His life through us today! He only asks that we choose to die to ourselves and receive His life each moment. Only. What a strange word for something so very simple and yet so very hard to do. How we fight that only!

The passionate commitment of the LORD of Heaven’s Armies
will make this happen!

Oh, you mean, that not only does He call us to it, but HE will make it happen, too?!

WOW! What a Savior!

