Tags

,


So, last night was the first night of Prayer: The A.R.T. of Devotion. What an amazing group of people God has brought and is bringing together to do HIS LIFE together! I am constantly inspired and encouraged by this “family” He has put me in.

This morning the Lord took me to Daniel 9 – I know, big surprise, huh? In a time when His people were far from Him, scattered far and wide due to their refusal to follow Him, God begins to stir their hearts to return to Him. Daniel is a key figure in the call to return. His devotion to God is so clearly demonstrated through his recorded prayers. There is much for us to learn from Daniel.

See how your city—the city that bears your name—lies in ruins.

We make this plea, not because we deserve help, but because of your mercy.

Daniel identifies the problem he is bringing before God and then identifies the problem in light of Who God is and His Character. Then he proceeds in humility, recognizing that it is only God’s mercy that gives him ground to come before this awesome, amazing God!

O Lord, hear. O Lord, forgive. O Lord, listen and act! For your own sake, do not delay, O my God, for your people and your city bear your name.

How do we identify with Daniel’s prayer today? My prayer looks like this: “…for your children, whom You have adopted, and Your church, through whom Your Son is revealed to those who do not know You, bear YOUR Name! Hear us. Forgive us. Listen and act, so that Your will is done, here, as it is in Heaven!”

I went on praying and confessing my sin and the sin of my people, pleading with the Lord my God for Jerusalem, his holy mountain.

Do you see yourself as part of His body? Do you see yourself as connected to the whole community of believers and therefore an integral part of His movement on earth?

As a member of the body, each of us stands in need for the wellness of each other! I have to ask myself, “Are you praying accordingly? Are you applying the “love that covers a multitude of sin” on behalf of each other? Or do you cower in the face of the enemy and fall back on old habits and responses?”

I choose to walk in the Spirit, to ask forgiveness for the times I fail, and to constantly be moving forward in my journey with Him! Because of His mercy, I come to the Father with boldness and absolute faith in the completed work of His Son! And I take the next step with humility, knowing that it is not based on my worthiness, but His alone!

He explained to me, “Daniel, I have come here to give you insight and understanding. The moment you began praying, a command was given. And now I am here to tell you what it was, for you are very precious to God. Listen carefully so that you can understand the meaning of your vision.”

Are you in the Presence of God long enough to hear His response to you? Have you heard Him tell you how precious you are to Him? Listen carefully! He has a vision and meaning for your life, too.

Follow Daniel’s example. Spend time in His Presence. Hear Him. And then walk in obedience with joy and anticipation!

