“Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour” I Peter 5:8 (ESV)

The craziest thing got me to thinking about this question, well a couple of crazy things actually. I got a splinter in my finger a few weeks ago – it might have even been a month now. And I kept digging at it myself, thinking I had gotten it out. (Those of you who have lived as long as I have know what I mean – the up-close-and-personal eyesight just isn’t what it used to be.) But then it would still be there – the pain would be the proof. So yesterday, I finally caved in and called my son, David, to come help me get it out.
That tiny little nuisance was really hurting and it just would not get well. Okay, I know, you’re thinking to yourself, “Why is this woman so slow?!” You have to understand, I get distracted. I have a very high pain threshold. I forget to pay attention. It’s really a good thing I don’t have leprosy, cause there would be nothing left of me – it would all have either gotten chopped off without me noticing or rotted off because I kept ignoring it. But God is gracious and I am still in one piece with nothing major missing. ; )
But I am learning. That’s where the other crazy thing comes in – it took a car accident and nearly six years to get me here. It’s amazing what you learn when you slow down and start paying attention to the built-in safety and warning systems within our own bodies. God’s intricate design never ceases to amaze me. Well, we are created in His image, so of course, we are amazing in every detail! There is so much to learn from God’s details, if we will just pay attention!
Okay, time’s up – so more tomorrow night…

