Have you ever felt this way? “With words of hatred they surround me; they attack me without cause. In return for my friendship they accuse me, but I am a man of prayer.” Psalm 109:3-4 (ESV)
I love the honesty of David throughout the Psalms. When he was down, he said so. When he was unsure, he said so. When he was discouraged, he said so!
I appreciate the freedom his honesty has given me to be honest with where I am. And I am eternally grateful that he did not leave off in any of those states of being. “…but I am a man of prayer.” What power resides in those seven little words. “…but I am a woman of prayer!” Prayer is what gives me access to the throne room of God Almighty. Prayer is what brings me back into alignment with His purposes here on earth. Prayer is what brings courage into a discouraging situation, and how I receive the overcoming power of the Holy Spirit to thwart the intentions of the enemy (Remember I Peter 5:8?) and to live this life as one who truly is more than a conqueror in the Name of the Lord Jesus Christ!
So, when I am faced with discouragement that seeks to overpower me and rob me of my peace and my faith and my intimacy with my Papi in heaven, I turn to Him through prayer and I curl up in His lap and I shed my tears and have my time of crying out to Him and telling Him about my situation and how I feel. But when it is all said and done, I confess my faith in Him and in His purposes and in His absolute, unfailing, merciful love for me. I know whose I am. And more importantly, I know the character of the One whose I am.
Not only is Jesus my Lord and Savior, He is also my very best friend. And you know what Proverbs 17:17 says don’t you? “A friend loves at all times.” (ESV) Did you get that? ALL TIMES! That includes when life seems to be hard and scary and we’re not sure it is all that worth living. HE loves me AT ALL TIMES! Good and bad, joyful and sorrowful. Yes, He even loves me in the discouraging times. No matter what, I cling to HIS truth.
So, what do YOU do with discouragement?

