“For the eyes of the LORD range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him.” (2 Chronicles 16:9, NIV)

Fully committed. What does that mean? What does that look like in the face of the challenges in any individual’s life? What does that mean in the face of the challenges that I personally face?

How do I know what He wants me to do right now, this minute, with the reality of where I am at this time? What do I do with broken relationships, friends who are hurting and searching and angry? What do I do with people who are broken and wanting answers when the Lord brings them into MY life and won’t let me run away? Why me? Why does He want to use me? What do I have to offer?

Oh, yeah, wait a minute. It’s not about me? It’s not about what I have to offer in myself? You mean, Lord, that even these things are all about YOU? It is only about what You have to offer through me – I am only a clay pot with a priceless gift wrapped inside? You want me to hear You? To wait on You and let You be in control? YOU want ME to be still before You? How?

I don’t know exactly what it will look like for you to be still before the Lord. But I do know that no matter what your personality, it is a spiritual discipline to be still, to listen, and to cut out the distraction and din of our world. As we practice this stillness, this waiting, this being, it is then that we can experience deep intimacy and relationship with the Holy Spirit. (Francis Chan, Forgotten God, page 109)

Practice. Experience. Discipline. Absolute trust.

I think of schooling a horse in dressage. When we watch a horse show and see the beauty and precise movements and oneness of horse and rider, we see the final result. We don’t see the hours of schooling and time spent building a relationship of trust between horse and rider.

Practice. Experience. Discipline. Absolute trust.

Yes, Lord, I will come before You and be still. I will build that relationship of absolute trust and listen as You speak to me. I love you. I am confident in Your love for me – based solely on YOUR character and nature. I don’t have to earn Your love, it is a gift of grace and mercy, because that is Who You are!!!

YOU are awesome and mighty and worthy of praise and glory!

Amen and Amen.

