Tags

, , ,


So, with this post-a-day challenge with WordPress comes daily starters just in case we need something to get us moving. The topic for yesterday was: What’s the single most important thing you accomplished in 2010? Well, 2010 was a real mixed bag for me. There was much to grieve as well as much to rejoice over. But I do think the most important thing I accomplished was to begin grad school. It has been a challenge, but it is bringing forth both fruit and pruning – both of which are surely to be celebrated. My current blogging material is one of the fruits – as I shared under Ideas here on my home page. So, on with today’s blog…

This photo was taken from one of my favorite walks during breaks between classes. I hope you can see Mt. Rainier.

I love the contrast of this view – with the busy waterfront in the foreground and the majesty of Mt. Rainier in the background. Juxtapositions. Learning to balance the demands of the natural world with the demands of that which is manmade and requires a different kind of maintenance. They each come with diverse challenges to navigate our way within and around. They each present forces beyond our control.

This brings up questions of how we negotiate the challenges of the natural world, the challenges of our own humanity, the challenges of the world we create around ourselves through our own effort and ingenuity, and the challenges we face in the spiritual realm as we work out our faith. How well do we balance the differences? How well do we see the similarities? Can we learn lessons from one that apply to the other? Can we face them all with harmony and curiosity and learn from them the importance of unity and balance? Can we merge all the various facets of what it means to live in this world so that we bring honor and glory to our Creator?

As I walk with my eyes open and ears ready to hear the voice of God, I experience life in a very different manner. And yet, it is not natural to live this way. But we are told in God’s Word: Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect. Romans 12:2.

A new person! Changed thinking! Yes, Lord, make it so! I long to see His transformation in my life with each new day. I want it to be “natural” to walk with my eyes open and my ears ready to hear His voice so that my heart responds instantly to every instruction and prompting. When 2011 comes to a close, my desire is that I will be able to say that this transformation has been the greatest accomplishment in my life for the past year.

How about you? What is your greatest accomplishment for 2010? What do you want to accomplish in 2011?

I would love to hear from you!

