Tags

, , , ,


 

Those who are experts in their fields command respect for their ideas.

 

Wally Amos speaks and people listen. He is successful at many things, an expert businessman. He carries clout. There are many others in the same position – Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, the President, celebrities, pastors, corporate executives; the list goes on and on. Their voice and their word holds power, even when what they say seems to be a paradox or a contradiction. Many listen and follow. But just how reliable are these experts? What happens when they are wrong – even if it is wrong only for an individual piece of advice?

How do we determine to whom we should listen? Who holds authority and respect in our lives? Do we think about to whom we choose to listen? Are we careful about those we are willing to follow?

On the Mount of Transfiguration, Jesus stood in the company of Elijah and Moses, and Peter, James, and John heard the Father proclaim, “This is my dearly loved Son, who brings Me great joy. Listen to Him.” Now that’s a reason to listen.

And yet how often do we pay more attention to the worldly-wise rather than the dearly loved Son of God, the One who holds all things together by the power of His Word?

I have been being challenged recently in regard to the amount and the quality of time I regularly spend in His Presence – be it in His Word, in prayer, in worship, in thanksgiving. I need more time with my precious Savior, my Father, and with the Spirit. I do not ever want to become complacent and take Him for granted. I want to be intentional in my pursuit of pleasing God and bringing Him honor and glory. I want to walk in full possession of my inheritance – all that cost my Savior so dearly!

Faith cannot be limited to just our heads – it must work out through our hands and feet and eyes and tongue as well as our checkbooks and schedules and vocations and recreation. Faith is active. Hope is active. Love is active. And they all hinge on listening.

Have you checked your ears lately?

 

