Tags

, , , , , , ,


 

There is a feel here, of wholeness and completeness and peace.

Have you wondered about this question? Why is God jealous over you and me? What’s the big deal anyway?

 

I think it is all wrapped up in His character, His nature, His holy perfection, His love for you and for me. Think about it. God is the only One who is absolutely righteous, no flaws, no imperfections, no deception, no evil intents. He has perfect communion in Himself. He is perfectly adored, worshiped, celebrated, and obeyed throughout Heaven – ever since the fall of Satan and his followers. And yet, He desires intimate fellowship with us, His creation, we who were created in His own image.

Even though we are broken, fallen, wayward and imperfect, He still desires our company. He longs to renew His perfect image in each of us. He longs for us to experience life as He designed it to be. He longs for each of us to be the perfectly unique expression of His character we were designed to be. He knows that the only way we will be fulfilled and at peace and living life as the adventure it was meant to be – is to be living it in communion with Him.

We are accustomed to jealously human style – a threatening emotion that seeks control and demands submission to one who is as equally broken as we are. Or perhaps we are the one on the jealous side, the one doing the demanding as though we were worthy and able to sustain another’s worship and praise.

Like God, because we are created in His image – and yet marred, disfigured, lacking in motive and ability. Therefore, even though we may find ourselves copying the character traits of God, we fall short and it causes conflict and pain and scarring wounds. All of which He desires to heal and redeem, to use on our behalf and for His honor and glory!

As imperfect as I am, I can see His markings in my life. I know the jealousy of a mother over her children as I watch my kids go through heartache that I know could have been avoided if only they had come to me first. The jealousy of a sister watching as those I love dearly live through the painful struggles associated with life – wanting their best and yet seeing them overtaken by doubt or rebellion. The jealousy of friend who wants to be able to do more for someone than is accepted or received.

God wants me to feel His heart – for a purpose. Not because I can make it better, but because He can. And yet He chooses to wait for one to stand in the gap and intercede on another’s behalf. He longs to move and display His power and His faithfulness, but because He created us in His image – in community – He moves and works only by His design and within the parameters of how He chose to create.

In Isaiah 55 He reminds us, “My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts. And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine. For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.” And because He is Who He is, because He has proven Himself faithful on my behalf time and time again, I KNOW I can trust Him in ALL things – including the things that challenge my faith. I can trust Him with the wellbeing of my children. I can trust Him when life throws huge curves in my direction. I can trust Him in broken relationships and in the face of what looks like utter failure. He is my perfect, loving Father – and He alone is worthy of my trust and my praise and my worship. I revel in His perfect jealousy over me.

How about you? Do you know Him this way?

Truly, O God of Israel, our Savior, you work in mysterious ways.
All craftsmen who make idols will be humiliated. They will all be disgraced together.
But the Lord will save the people of Israel with eternal salvation.
Throughout everlasting ages, they will never again be humiliated and disgraced.

For the Lord is God, and he created the heavens and earth and put everything in place.
He made the world to be lived in, not to be a place of empty chaos.
“I am the Lord,” he says, “and there is no other. I publicly proclaim bold promises.
I do not whisper obscurities in some dark corner.
I would not have told the people of Israel to seek me if I could not be found.
I, the Lord, speak only what is true and declare only what is right.”
Isaiah 45:15-19

 

