Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


The WordPress topic of the day: Who is your greatest hero of all time?

 

Family gatherings are the best!

Today’s devotion by Ariel Allison Lawhon over on Proverbs 31 Ministries ( http://devotions.proverbs31.org/ ) is all about memory and reminiscing and God’s hand on our lives. It got me to thinking, along with today’s topic of the day. Who is my greatest hero?

Honestly, (and those who know will attest to the truth of this) I don’t have just one favorite of anything. I always hate those kind of questions and ice-breakers at meetings. It baffles me to think that anyone could possible narrow down any topic and come up with just one favorite. For me, it depends on the day, the hour, the circumstances, the application, my mood, what is happening in my life, what is prompting the question, etc., etc., etc.

My family loves to sing together.

But Ariel’s story got me to thinking about my own Granny, and my own childhood memories, and how I loved gathering with my extended family of aunts, uncles, greats, cousin, and nieces and nephews. I love my family! We are a bunch of fun-loving, prank-playing, beautifully irreverent, absolutely imperfect, laughter-out-the-rafter folks. Family gatherings were anything but boring! And fun was sure to be had at all times!

My favorite childhood memories are definitely centered around my extended family. But age does a terrible thing, at least for me, it has begun to make me realize how much I took my family for granted, how little time I spent appreciating the beauty and chaos of my family, how many stories of their lives I did not commit to memory much less onto paper to hand down to the next generations.

I have always been very much a live-life-in-the-moment kind of person. There are reasons other than just personality for that. And it does have its advantages – when you are determined to make the most out of every moment, the moments are often momentous, making life fun and memorable for those around you. But it also has a downside. Reflection often gets overlooked. The deeper things of life often get passed by. Journaling is a chore that only lasts a short time, then is quickly forgotten. Stories are rarely collected and preserved and gathered together to help deepen our roots.

The truth is I am nostalgic and I do want to be able to pass on the richness of our history, but I am so disorganized and so quickly on to the next great idea, that I forget. I forget where I put things. I forget to continue. And sometimes I even forget the stories and the rich details.

You know the old adage – the grass is greener on the other side. You know – my hair is straight and brown, so I want curly, red hair. I can teach and speak, but I want to be able to sing and dance. I can ______, but I want _______. The Lord has faithfully been reminding me over and over to bloom where I am planted, to learn to enjoy who He has made me to be and to allow Him to reveal who I am yet to be – without the idolatry of wishing I could design myself according to my own specifications.

I’m getting there. I think it is called contentment and gratitude. It calls for a perspective change, a paradigm shift. So, as I slow down and take time to listen to the voice of my Savior, I intentionally choose to embrace my story and fully live in and live out the inheritance with which I have been so graciously gifted. I am a daughter of the Most High God and my greatest desire is to bring Him the honor and glory and praise that is due Him. What does that look like? It looks like me surrendering my life to the work of the Holy Spirit so that I am remade in the image of the Lord Jesus Christ – every moment of every day. And all provision has already been made and given to me so that I can live it out in truth and grace. WOW!

I’m learning. One step at a time. How about you?

And are you wondering what my answer is to the topic question? My family. My family is my greatest hero. I love them dearly and miss them terribly and wish the kids and I could make it home for a family reunion. I owe so much of who I am and who I will yet become to my family – that lovely, crazy, chaotic group of people who shaped my view of life. Thank you to all of you!

