Tags

, , ,


As I sit here in my room, contemplating what I can possibly bring to this page this night, I am struck by one word: relentless.

The wind has been howling and crashing against the walls of my house for two days now. There is the constant howl of the 20 mph winds, and there is the crash and shaking of the house with the 50+mph gusts. Relentless.

I am reminded of the many times the coming of the Holy Spirit is likened to the wind. And I am also reminded in the tales of Narnia that Aslan is not a tame lion.

I do not serve a tame, civilized God. In fact, my God is anything but tame and civilized. He is the Almighty One, the Holy One, the Everlasting One … the One whose ways are far above our ways and whose thoughts are beyond anything mortal man can even fathom.

And this God, this God who sees the end from the beginning and the beginning from the end, this God is relentless in His love for me and for you, too. He is relentless in His pursuit of His wayward creation. He is relentless in His redemptive power on behalf of His beloved children. He is relentless in His commitment to our perfection. He is relentless in His desire for intimate relationship with each and every one of us. He is relentless in love and desire for us, and yet He is equally relentless in honoring our choices – even when we choose to deny Him His rightful inheritance in us. Relentless.

The wind will eventually die down and give up. But God never will.

How do you respond to His pursuit of love?

