Tags


WordPress topic of the day.

It’s been a long two days for me. Oh, how I look forward to strength and stamina returning. I really don’t like how easily fatigued I am – still. It’s been six weeks since the surgery, aren’t I supposed to be back to “normal” again?

There is such a pull in me to return to “normal” regardless of the cost. And yet, there is another voice that is challenging me to cling to the slower pace and not be drawn back into the crazy hectic-ness that has been “normal” for so many years. Which brings us to the topic of the day: What can’t I say no to?

For too long that list has been too long. I don’t like having to tell others no. I love to be  there for others, I love to do, and I love to be a part of. So much so that I really had no boundaries, nothing that wisely guided my agreements to do and to add on more and more and more.

I am learning. I am beginning to find out what it looks like to live within limits and to live with limits. In fact, just today one of my favorite devotions was on that very topic. The closing statement by David Wilkerson sums it up for me:

I have but one ambition and that is to learn more and more to say only those things the Father gives me. Nothing I say or do of myself is worth anything. I want to be able to claim, “I know my Father is with me, because I do only his will.”

Amen and Amen!

And so, I am learning to say no. The only One I don’t ever want to say no to is my wonderful Father, the Author and Finisher of my faith!

 

