Tags

, ,


I would like to share a study/devotion model the Lord revealed to me a few years ago. This is not an exhaustive explanation, but rather a demonstration of how it is used in one passage. This study began with Psalm 103:1. I used the references given in the ESV to see that one verse in a larger context. Hope you enjoy and are blessed by this sample. Let me know if you would like to know more about it.

We are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory!

Verse 1

Bless the LORD, O my soul,

and all that is within me,

bless his holy name!

  • As a deer pants for flowing streams,
    so pants my soul for you, O God.
    My soul thirsts for God,
    for the living God.
    When shall I come and appear before God? Psalm 42:1-2
  • Bless the LORD, O my soul!
    O LORD my God, you are very great!
    You are clothed with splendor and majesty,
    covering yourself with light as with a garment,
    stretching out the heavens like a tent. Psalm 104:1
  • When the poor and needy seek water,
    and there is none,
    and their tongue is parched with thirst,
    I the LORD will answer them;
    I the God of Israel will not forsake them. Isaiah 41:17
  • “Come, everyone who thirsts,
    come to the waters;
    and he who has no money,
    come, buy and eat!
    Come, buy wine and milk
    without money and without price.” Isaiah 55:1
  • “God blesses those who are poor and realize their need for him,
    for the Kingdom of Heaven is theirs.
    God blesses those who mourn,
    for they will be comforted.” Matthew 5:3-4
  • On the last day of the feast, the great day, Jesus stood up and cried out, “If anyone thirsts, let him come to me and drink. John 7:37

When shall I come and appear before God? Revocalization yields and see the face of God – From birth, we are designed to seek the face of the ones we love. We are created in God’s image – we seek the face of the one with whom we are most identified. Because of our sin, we cannot, in this mortal body, look on the face of God – the One we are created to seek first and foremost – and live. And yet the intense longing for intimacy with which we were created, drives us to seek Him. The question is, will we settle for something less than God Himself, or will we pursue Him to our last breath, and find that we awaken in His Presence, finally face to face with the One we truly desire?

Blessed are those whose hearts are pure, for they will see God. Matthew 5:8

Anticipate:

Papi, You are the Almighty God, the Great I Am. You alone are worthy of my praise and my honor. You are holy! You are the very provision and sustenance of life – You are the Living One, who gives life to all other matter. You have put within be the longing, desire, the intense craving to see Your face – for intimacy with You is the only thing that can satisfy what was lost to me at the fall.

You are clothed with splendor and majesty! Robed with honor and majesty!

You cover Yourself with light as with a garment.

You stretch out the heavens like a tent. The starry curtain of heaven. – (Sounds like tabernacle language – the place God revealed His Presence and confirmed relationship with the children of Israel at that time.)

Resonate

Single-minded. That is what I long and desire to be. Hungry and thirsty for You, recognizing that I am indeed poor and needy, desperate for Your Presence. I need You, Papi!

I want and need to effectively do battle against my laziness, my fears, my doubts, my reluctance to come on my knees before You and to worship You as my God and to seek Your face, trusting You to reveal what I can handle as I can handle it! Your love for me is infinitely tender and merciful!

Translate

I need to look to the condition of my soul. If I am not hungry and thirsty for God, why not? What is blocking the way? What other things or people am I looking to and hoping they will satisfy that need?

How am I blessing the Lord? Am I only concerned with how He blesses me? Am I considering what brings joy to His heart? Am I looking after the state of my faith and the fruit of my tongue?

Help me to understand Your concept of mourning, Papi. Teach me its purpose, how to mourn to accomplish Your purposes, and how to lead others in following after Your heart through mourning and resurrection.

