Tags

, , , ,


Spring is coming! I love seeing the first signs of spring's new wardrobe mixed with winter's garb.

 

Here is the next step in my Psalm 103 study using the ART model. My hope is that you, too, are blessed and challenged and encouraged to make it your own and see your heart respond to His Word spoken directly to you and your circumstances and your need.

Verse 2

Bless the LORD, O my soul,
and forget not all his benefits,

  • As a deer pants for flowing streams,
    so pants my soul for you, O God. Psalm 42:1
  • “And when the LORD your God brings you into the land that he swore to your fathers, to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob, to give you—with great and good cities that you did not build, and houses full of all good things that you did not fill, and cisterns that you did not dig, and vineyards and olive trees that you did not plant—and when you eat and are full, then take care lest you forget the LORD, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery. Deuteronomy 6:10-12
  • “Take care lest you forget the LORD your God by not keeping his commandments and his rules and his statutes, which I command you today, lest, when you have eaten and are full and have built good houses and live in them, and when your herds and flocks multiply and your silver and gold is multiplied and all that you have is multiplied, then your heart be lifted up, and you forget the LORD your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery, who led you through the great and terrifying wilderness, with its fiery serpents and scorpions and thirsty ground where there was no water, who brought you water out of the flinty rock, who fed you in the wilderness with manna that your fathers did not know, that he might humble you and test you, to do you good in the end. Deuteronomy 8:11-16
  • For what gives you the right to make such a judgment? What do you have that God hasn’t given you? And if everything you have is from God, why boast as though it were not a gift? 1 Corinthians 4:7
  • Remove far from me falsehood and lying;
    give me neither poverty nor riches;
    feed me with the food that is needful for me,
    lest I be full and deny you
    and say, “Who is the LORD?”
    or lest I be poor and steal
    and profane the name of my God. Proverbs 30:8-9

Anticipate:

Papi, You are a God who makes and keeps promises! Your Word is gold! You are the God who makes provision, Who loves to bless Your children with all that we need and then some. And above all else, You give Yourself in relationship and intimacy and pour out Your very nature on us! You alone are worthy of our praise and honor and love.

You are jealous over our hearts and our affections. You long for our fullness and abundance in You – life overflowing, nourishing, renewing.

You draw me to Yourself with love and kindness and provision.

You are holy!

Resonate:

I long to be in Your Presence, Papi! I long to be held in your arms and comforted. I long to hear Your words of pleasure and acceptance. I long for YOU! And I long to see You work in my life to bring provision and security, so that when others look, they will have to praise You and give You the glory. Only You can bring redemption and rescue me from this miry pit of debt and failed relationship and uncertainty about the future. Be my God!

You promised provision to Your people, Your children – great and good cities that they did not build, and houses full of all good things that they did not fill, and cisterns that they did not dig, and vineyards and olive trees that they did not plant. Cities – community and commerce. Houses – security and safety in families. Cisterns – water and life for all living things. Vineyards and olive trees – food, wine and oil, sustenance and continuing provision.

Your children need Your salvation and Your provision today. I need Your leading in my own salvation and provision. Teach me, Lord, show me Your way that I can honor You and please You in every detail of  my life.

Translate:

Forget not… How do I do this and also encourage others to do the same? Perhaps by repetition, choosing to remember, listing His benefits over and over again as my attention is being drawn away from His face and onto the problems and issues that surround me.

Trust, not worry. Faith, not despair. Praise, not ingratitude. Love, not apathy.

Perhaps I can keep a running dialogue open, continually talking to Him about every detail of life. “Here are the bills today, Lord. What will we do with them? How would You like me to proceed? Here are the opportunities of the day, hour, minute – where do I need to say yes and where do I need to say no? Here are the lives and challenges of those I love dearly; where do I need to be involved and where do I need to step back and leave You room to work a miracle today? Here are my studies, Lord, what needs to be hidden in my heart, what needs to set aside for a later time, and what needs to be discarded now? Here is my life, Lord, what honors and pleases You? What shall we keep and what shall we set aside? “

Thank You for leading me through “the great and terrible wilderness” and being with me every step of the way!

Your love and faithfulness are truly amazing!

