Tags

, , ,


Wednesday’s Daily Post: How do you recover lost trust? In a person? In an idea?

Bonus: If someone lets you down or betrays you, how do you learn to forgive? And can you possibly learn to trust them again? Why or why not?

This one arrived after I had already posted Psalm 103:3. But I thought, why not for Thursday. So here goes…

Can’t say as how I have ever lost trust in an idea – not sure what that would look like. But I have certainly lost trust in a person. Regaining trust is not an easy thing. It seems to be nigh unto impossible if that person does not take responsibility for the thing that destroyed trust in the first place.

Forgiveness is different – for me anyway. I see forgiveness as a choice to set my own heart free and to bring wholeness and well-being back into my life. It may or may not set the offender free. It may or may not bring wholeness to the offender. It may or may not restore the offender’s well-being. But why would I choose to keep myself in bondage and brokenness by not forgiving? Though it is still a process.

I know forgiveness is genuine and has done its work in me when I can honestly and freely pray for that one with no reserve. When I can truly seek God’s best in that person’s life and ask God to reveal how I can participate in His plan for revealing His glory in their life – then victory is truly mine, I become the overcomer God has proclaimed I am.

But renewed trust is another story. A story on which I am working, seeking God’s direction, along with His perspective on trust itself. Integrity is important – for me myself, and for the ones who are important in my life. Integrity is an important character trait. In human terms it certainly is an important part of building the trust of others and for them to build trust with me.

And yet, as I look at the life of Jesus, it didn’t seem to matter too much to Him whether or not a person was worthy of His trust. He simply trusted His Father. He didn’t look to the people around Him to validate or invalidate His choices or His work. He simply trusted His Father. He listened to the direction His Father gave Him and He just did it. It didn’t matter what people’s responses were going to be, how they were going to receive His words or actions, or whether they were “worthy” of His trust or not. He simply trusted His Father.

I’m working on it. Unfortunately, my eyes have been trained to “see” those who are around me and respond to them. I’m learning. At this point, it is a matter of training and discipline, not a well-formed habit. I desire to “simply trust my Father” and have it be enough. Process. Journey. Patience. Peacefulness. I can rest, because I can trust. And therefore, trust I will! In my Father. It is more than enough!

 

