Tags

, , , ,


The ART model applied outside my box…
Thank you, Mars Hill, for expanding my vision, even to myself.

John 1:35-42 ESV                                                        4/4/11

Jesus Calls the First Disciples

The next day again John was standing with two of his disciples, and he looked at Jesus as he walked by and said, “Behold, the Lamb of God!” The two disciples heard him say this, and they followed Jesus. Jesus turned and saw them following and said to them,  “What are you seeking?” And they said to him, “Rabbi” (which means Teacher), “where are you staying?” He said to them, “Come and you will see.” So they came and saw where he was staying, and they stayed with him that day, for it was about the tenth hour. One of the two who heard John speak and followed Jesus was Andrew, Simon Peter’s brother. He first found his own brother Simon and said to him, “We have found the Messiah” (which means Christ). He brought him to Jesus. Jesus looked at him and said, “So you are Simon the son of John? You shall be called Cephas” (which means Peter).

 

Anticipate:

The Lamb of God. Jesus You are the perfect, spotless, beloved Lamb of God! You are the Firstborn, the sacrifice offered to reestablish relationship between God and man, between God and me personally.

You are the One Who searches my heart and asks me the questions that reveal what is hidden, not yet discovered about myself.

You have invited me to follow You, to come and see where You are staying. You have invited me into the ordinariness of life, of Your life, of Your residence within the lowly, the downtrodden, the outcast, as well as the destitute who hide behind their possessions and achievements.

Open my eyes to see You, everywhere You are!

 

Resonate:

What am I seeking? I am following You, at times closely – close enough to feel Your breath against my cheek – and yet at times I hang back, unsure where You are leading, if I am willing or able to follow, to see where You will take me.

What am I seeking? Am I in or am I not? Is it You I follow, or is it what You do or what You might do that motivates me?

The real questions is this – Am I in love with You? Do I identify myself as Your betrothed and then behave as one betrothed to the King of Kings, the Prince of Peace, the Mighty Counselor?

Or do I forget whose I am?

What am I seeking?

 

Translate:

Remember. For when I remember, I am filled with the Spirit, I do not fear, I can take courage, and I can follow step for step where You lead.

Remember the Jesus Vision! Yes! I desire to dance and shout and praise and weep and seek and invite – all as a reflection of what You are already doing in the world around me.
(If you haven’t read the Jesus Vision and would like to, click here.)

 

Imagine Jesus asking you his question for John’s disciples, “What are you looking for?”  “Why are you following me?”  What do you want from discipleship?

This one really hit me. Imagining myself face to face with Jesus and Him asking me those questions – whoa! I’d rather think about their context, what it might have felt like for them. What am I looking for when I choose to follow Jesus? Why am I following Him? What do I want from my choice to be His disciple? Honestly, that answer differs all too often depending on my circumstances. Sometimes I just want what I think He can and might do on my behalf. Other times, I just want to be associated with someone Who got it “right” and hope maybe it will rub off on me. But other times, I just want Jesus; I want to know Him, to demonstrate my love and my gratitude and my faith in Him alone. I want to be like Him, and that requires a lot of time in His Presence. And there is so much to draw me away from that intimacy, so many demands, so many needs, so few fish caught in the nets after a hard night’s work.

I am so very thankful for grace and for mercy and that our God is all about the second chances, and the third, fourth, seven times seventy chances! His faithfulness never fails!

 

