Tags

, , ,


Verse 6 ESV

The LORD works righteousness
and justice for all who are oppressed.

  • But joyful are those who have the God of Israel as their helper, whose hope is in the Lord their God. He made heaven and earth, the sea, and everything in them. He keeps every promise forever. He gives justice to the oppressed and food to the hungry. The Lord frees the prisoners. The Lord opens the eyes of the blind. The Lord lifts up those who are weighed down. The Lord loves the godly. The Lord protects the foreigners among us. He cares for the orphans and widows, but he frustrates the plans of the wicked. Psalm 146:5-9 NLT
  • For he satisfies the longing soul, and the hungry soul he fills with good things. Psalm 107:9 ESV
  • The eyes of all look to you, and you give them their food in due season. Psalm 145:15 ESV
  • God places the lonely in families; he sets the prisoners free and gives them joy. But he makes the rebellious live in a sun-scorched land. Psalm 68:6 NLT
  • The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me, because the LORD has anointed me to bring good news to the poor; he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound. Isaiah 61:1 ESV
  • And Mary said, I’m bursting with God-news; I’m dancing the song of my Savior God. God took one good look at me, and look what happened— I’m the most fortunate woman on earth! What God has done for me will never be forgotten, the God whose very name is holy, set apart from all others. His mercy flows in wave after wave on those who are in awe before him. He bared his arm and showed his strength, scattered the bluffing braggarts. He knocked tyrants off their high horses, pulled victims out of the mud. The starving poor sat down to a banquet; the callous rich were left out in the cold. He embraced his chosen child, Israel; he remembered and piled on the mercies, piled them high. It’s exactly what he promised, beginning with Abraham and right up to now. Luke 1:46-55 The Message

Anticipate:

Sovereign. You reign over all creation! You are righteousness. You are freedom and release and healing and newness of life! You work Your purposes in our lives. You work for our relationship with You!

FOR ALL! You are FOR ALL, each and every one of us! You are not against Your creation. You never seek our harm.

You are my helper, the fulfiller of my hope; You are the only One Who keeps every promise without fail; You are the justice that is missing in this world; Your protection and rescue are always ready for me to receive and live out.

You remember me with mercy. You pile mercy upon mercy on my life.

Resonate:

Lord GOD, You are my Papi! You are my Savior! You are my all in all! I come to You as the one You created for Your purposes, and go out in the spirit of Mary, “I am the Lord’s servant. May your word to me be fulfilled.”

Your desire for me is that I reflect You to all around me – Your righteousness, Your holiness, Your love, Your delight, Your joy! Here am I, Lord, Your willing servant!

No one is excluded from Your invitation for intimate relationship or Your offer of provision. All means all – no qualifiers.

I stand in awe of You; in awe of Your gracious invitation to me personally, and through me as You work Your righteousness into my life – just as I love to work the soil, to work in compost and manure and all that enriches the soil to produce a greater harvest – so You love to do the same in me.

Translate:

When I feel empty, on the verge of hopelessness, I need to check the focus of my desire. I am created to crave fellowship with God, to be one with Him – which translates to learning to see Him in my brothers and sisters and in all creation. Where am I focusing? On the people and the objects around me, or on God as He is expressing Himself through them? Heal my blindness, Lord! Open my heart to see through Your eyes of love every single moment of my life.

Two questions come to mind: *Where am I aware of oppression in my life – where it feels like there is a heavy load that creates discouragement, hopelessness, a focus on something other than the Presence and power of God Himself? *Where am I guilty of bringing oppression in another’s life – an expectation or sense of being controlled by my wants or wishes instead of being free to respond to the work of the Holy Spirit?

How do I become more effective in tending the soil of another’s heart? In what practical ways can I enrich other’s readiness to receive the seed of faith and to experience all the provision of Your life in them? It seems to me that discipleship/mentoring is the key. And when crowds or large numbers of people are involved, then prayer and the work of Your Spirit must become an even more intentional focus for imparting Your truth and work of grace. Show me, Lord, open my heart and understanding to Your ways.

Awaken the Church, Your Bride, to a deeper level of love and longing for You, so that all those around us will be naturally drawn to You, to also want to know You in a deep, intimate, passionate relationship with You! May this awakening happen both individually and corporately. We need You!

