Tags

, , , ,


Drayton Harbor

This has been a busy week and a busy weekend, with a busy Sunday. But in the midst of the busyness,I chose the rest that was available to me – a drive through Birch Bay State Park, around the Bay, and over to Semiahmoo. Views of the water, the islands, the plants and trees budding and blooming, a beautiful blue sky, bright sun, and gentle breeze, and the water. Did I mention the water? I love looking out across the Bay, the Sound, or the Harbor (as in Birch, Puget, and Drayton – for those of you not familiar with the northwest corner of the Northwest corner, look us up ). There is just something that calls me to freedom and release, that refreshes my spirit and encourages my faith.

God has been working on me about the harms of my past – harm endured and harm done. Today He was asking me to once again step forward and own the choices, the sin, I have preferred to leave covered over and make excuses for. And He was asking me to release those who, even though there are wonderful memories and good times associated with them, have brought great sorrow into my life. My drive today represented both sides of that coin. Harmer and harmee.

A few tears were shed along the way. A few pounds of sorrow and grief and remorse were released with those tears. And a new realization of transparency and honesty was gained. Yes, I am a sinner saved by grace. Yes, I am a child of God redeemed by grace. Yes, I am a warrior sustained by grace. Every detail of my life is bathed in grace, a grace won on my behalf because of the only begotten Son of the Living God was willing to take upon Himself – my stripes, my bruises, my penalty, my sentence of death as He suffered on Golgotha and Calvary, as He died, was buried, and rose again to secure our forgiveness and our salvation.

I am forgiven and freed. I am restored and released. I am filled with the Holy Spirit and invited to live in intimate communion with my Savior and my Heavenly Father.

I am grateful for the rest He provides. Not just the short-term rest of a leisurely drive beside the water, but the eternal, heart and soul deep rest that comes from knowing that there is nothing I can do to earn His approval or His love for me or His pleasure in me. I am His! He is mine!

Birch Bay

 

I hope you know this faith.

I hope you know this rest.

I hope you know this Savior!

 

I would love to hear the story of your journey.

 

