Tags

, , , ,


Blessings in Abundance!

I love playing in the soil and tending to the garden. Living things impart life to me.

I will find joy doing good for them and will faithfully and wholeheartedly replant them in this land.  Jeremiah 32:41 NLT

I have this penchant for transplanting. I was blessed with some of my favorite trees and flowers when we bought this place 14 years ago. But the previous owner had strange ideas of where things should go – very random and annoying, some obstructing the view on our crazy corner.

So over the years, several major things have gotten transplanted. My thought is this – if it can’t stay where it is, then I will move it and give it a chance to live. I pray over the things that have to be moved and talk to them and rejoice over their beauty (don’t worry, I have never claimed sanity. In my opinion, sanity is way over-rated!) and believe for the best. So far, so good. Check out my success stories:

I myself am a transplant. Geographically and culturally, I have been transplanted from the Deep South to the Far Northwest. Spiritually I have been transplanted from the kingdom of darkness to the Kingdom of Light. Emotionally I am being transplanted from the natural reaction of fear to the supernatural response of love.

It took us a week to make the geographic move from Georgia to Washington (we were traveling with our six children who were at that time between the ages of 1 and 11. There were numerous stops and visits with friends along the way.)

It took me several years to know that my roots had grown deep here, in this very strange culture of the Pacific Northwest.

The realization of my transplanting away from the kingdom of darkness and into the Kingdom of Light is an ongoing process as I learn to let go of old habits of thought and behavior and embrace the new creation I am through redeeming power of the Lord Jesus Christ.

And I would have to say that I am only just beginning to be able to identify deep-seated reactions based on fear that are originated from my sub-conscious – areas of harm that were stuffed deep and not recognized, addressed, or grieved as they should have been. But, as I am able to identify them and bring them to the light, those responses are being redeemed and transformed into the very love of God in me and through me.

What an adventure! There is such peace and joyful anticipation in walking in His light and learning concrete ways to demonstrate His love to those He brings into my world – my sphere of influence.

Still, I grieve when I am confronted with the harm my own brokenness has caused over the years. And, unfortunately, since this is a process, there are too  many times that I still react from fear and anger in the moment. But I am growing, more and more I am amazed as I see myself responding in love and not reacting from the fear of facing myself and my own shortcomings. I am learning to pause and make room so that I can hear the voice of the Spirit and allow His transforming power to change how I think and how I respond.

Baby steps. They’re evident in the process of transplanting my trees, my bushes, and my flowers as the roots take hold and the plant begins to thrive and grow. And they are evident in me as my roots begin to take hold in the soil of God’s presence and His love pouring out over my life.

And so, I will trust. I will walk in faith, believing His Word and His promises to be true. I will live out all that He has poured out in me. Day by day.

Transplanted and thriving!

