Tags

, , ,


Postaday2011 Topic for yesterday… We all have limits for what we are willing to try, or do, but how do you know that you haven’t gone far enough? Or when you go too far?

Setting boundaries has been quite the process for me – and I certainly have not perfected it. But having gone for many years without them, I know from personal experience the pain that comes because I haven’t really known where I end and others begin, or where I begin and others end. This has caused a great deal of confusion and heartbreak in my life.

I certainly don’t claim to know all the answers on this one, but one thing I am learning is that knowing myself and being present in this life helps to clearly define boundaries. I am learning to hear God’s voice more clearly, and learning how He desires for me to exercise my will and make choices and decisions and continue to listen to Him after they have been made. I am also learning that as I focus more intently on the vision God has given me, the easier it is to know where my boundaries are.

For me, boundaries do not look like thick walls meant to keep others out, but rather like a clear path that keeps me moving in line with God’s plan for who He created me to be. When I am on this path, there is peace and joy and contentment and great anticipation for all that God is doing in my life. But when I begin to stray, my stress and anxiousness and fear increase.

I do not serve a cause, I serve a living, personal Savior. But sometimes, I act as if I serve a cause, and that is one of the times my boundaries get very mixed up. Causes can seem to be so very important and demand our time and energy and resources. But God pours out all that we need to carry out His plan.

I’m still learning. I would love to hear what you’ve learned about boundaries in your life!

