Tags

, , , , , , ,


The ART of Finding God in THIS Cloud – Love

Warning! Not for the faint of heart!

“I love you. I’ve only ever shown you pure love. I’ve never done anything to hurt you. But you…

How do you reason with someone when that is the argument to which they return time after time after time? How do you find a place to talk and to wrestle through the hard issues that come with every relationship when the response is this proclamation combined with an unwillingness – possibly an inability – to interpret one’s actions and words as hurtful and damaging and destructive?

How does one break through that seemingly impenetrable, self-protective shell? Both for the one trying to get in and for the one stuck behind the shell longing to reach out?

I am thinking it has to do with love. Identifying with God’s love and heart for all His children, all His creation. My feeble attempts at loving others out of my own resources fails and disappoints.

How do you define love? That is a question with which I have been struggling.

When I consider Jesus’ demonstration of God’s love, I realize the watered-down, emotion-based definition I have grown up believing to be true, simply is not even close to how God defines love.

I invite you to consider with me: if we have a distorted definition/view of love, the way we interpret everything – including God’s story in the Bible – will be distorted. Understanding love requires wisdom – they go hand in hand! The only way to attain wisdom is to ask the Father and receive His Word – wisdom – through the Holy Spirit. The Spirit reveals Jesus to us, and Jesus reveals the Father.

But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things!
Galatians 5:22-23 (NLT)

Are you allowing the Holy Spirit to read and interpret the Word of God to you on a daily basis? Are you allowing Him to show you how God defines love and desires to fill your heart with His love? After all, love is one of the fruits of the Spirit! I know this truth, but sometimes I get so distracted by the circumstances of life and the difficulties I am facing, I forget to apply what I know. More importantly, I forget to focus on God Himself and receive His life as my life. It is all about the grace of God as He pours Himself into and through me!

Remember, wisdom reveals love, through the Lord Jesus Christ, and changes the way the hear the Word of God – then the hearing becomes Holy Spirit inspired! And we are filled with the fruit of the Spirit – able to demonstrate and respond to others with the love of God!

I’m working on it and staying with the process!

