Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,



“I have come to call not those who think they are righteous, but those who know they are sinners.”
Mark 2:17 (NLT)

 

Judging another is a dangerous weapon wielded by the hand of the evil one
as a temptation to divert my focus where it does not belong.
Pride seeps in when judgment raises the specter of self-righteousness in me.
It cleverly draws me out, calls my attention away from the face of God, strokes my ego with words of comparison and flattery, assures me of how much better I am than them.
It is a subtle, entrapping set-up, deliberately suffocating me,
sucking the Breath of God out of my airways,
attacking every vital organ as it depletes all oxygen from the
life-sustaining blood that flows throughout my body.
I wither away, no, not I, but Your vitality withers away, from the inside out.
Judgment is deceptive.
Even in the naming of judgment coming from another,
I must be aware of the temptation to participate with its evil intent –
separation, isolation, elevation, congratulations for attaining such a lofty perch,
look at me standing above, looking down, holding time in my omnipotent hands,
holding the other hostage to my superior knowledge of
what should be true in them and for them.
Father, I turn.
As I see my sure demise, I run to You.
Repentant,
I run from the poison that is spreading from the deceitfulness of my own heart.
I need You.
Cleanse me. Renew me.
Hold me, safe and secure in the perfection of Your love.
Open my eyes to see what You see,
to hold in tenderness and compassion all whom You value –
ALL!
Transform every fiber of my being that I might walk in grace,
interceding for each one whom You love
to be released from our chains,
freed from our bondages,
filled with the expectation of Your coming,
the fullness of Your Presence,
to know, fully and freely, Your residency right here in me,
in her,
in him,
in us.
Your Beloved arises in anticipation –
the soon coming of our Bridegroom.
Let us prepare together!


Take care, brothers, lest there be in any of you an evil, unbelieving heart, leading you to fall away from the living God. But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called “today,” that none of you may be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin.
Hebrews 3:12-13 (ESV)

