Tags

, , , , ,


Now a woman was there who had been suffering from a hemorrhage for twelve years. She had endured a great deal under the care of many doctors and had spent all that she had. Yet instead of getting better, she grew worse. When she heard about Jesus, she came up behind him in the crowd and touched his cloak, for she kept saying, “If only I touch his clothes, I will be healed.” At once the bleeding stopped, and she felt in her body that she was healed of her disease.
Jesus knew at once that power had gone out from him. He turned around in the crowd and said, “Who touched my clothes?” His disciples said to him, “You see the crowd pressing against you and you say, ‘Who touched me?’” But he looked around to see who had done it. Then the woman, with fear and trembling, knowing what had happened to her, came and fell down before him and told him the whole truth. He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has made you well. Go in peace, and be healed of your disease.”
Mark 5:25-34 (NET)

Presence.

I am struck by the statement, “Jesus knew at once that power had gone out from him.” I think of how often I am guilty of going and going and going, giving to others, helping others in need, playing, moving, listening, talking, asking, hoping, escaping, retreating ~ and not being aware of my self or my condition, only to suddenly just feel like collapsing or biting someone’s head off for the silliest reasons.

Unaware. Not present. Missing out.

All too often I walk around in a fog, unaware of just how detached I’ve become, how much I am hiding from pain and sorrow and disappointment.

But Jesus demonstrates a very different reality and possibility for each and every one of us. He is so in tune with the LIFE of the Father in Him, that even when a secret touch draws from the healing power of that LIFE, He was instantly aware of it.

And in love and genuine care for the whole being of this one who drew from Him in secret, He turns and seeks her out so that she doesn’t go away and remain in hiding with a secret blessing. He blesses her publicly. He praises her faith publicly. He names the uncleanness and restores her in public. In doing so, He identifies with her shame and her disgrace. He gives her a complete and total cleansing that restores her to and in her community.

He could have just walked on and ignored her. He also could have just shielded Himself and not made His power available. But He didn’t.

He healed. He acknowledged. He restored. And He bestowed blessing and honor on one who had been left out of community for twelve years, one who all too well knew heartbreak and loneliness and disappointment.

And now, she has been acknowledged and blessed and restored by this One, the Son of God and Son of Man. No more hiding and being isolated and in fear of being discovered in the presence of others. She confesses all and is free indeed!

I desire to identify fully with both the woman and with Jesus. To come in my need and to confess all and in turn receive the healing and freedom Jesus bestows. And to be so in tune with the LIFE of God in me, that I am immediately aware when another needs to draw from that LIFE so that I can acknowledge the need of that one and the provision He freely given by God through me. To be seen and to see. Fully present.

