Tags

, , , , ,


The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” John 10:10 (NKJV)
Sometimes the words of another strike a chord in my heart. Today’s devotion over on Proverbs 31 Ministries is one of those “words” for me.
Can I ever relate to this one! (If you would like to read the original post, click here.)
Timely.
Striking.
Penetrating.
The Holy Spirit continues to reveal the “junk” in my heart, as He pries my fingers from around the destructive tendencies that bring comfort in their familiarity.
Let’s look at that sentence the other way around…
Old habits and patterns of reacting are familiar territory.
I am most comfortable with the familiar, it is what I know, what I am used to.
God’s way is a life of simplicity and intimacy with Him.
My familiar ways of being and thinking and doing are destructive to God’s way in me.
I clutch on to the old, and fight to hold on.
The Holy Spirit is faithful to lovingly loosen my grip on those destructive ways.
He does this by revealing how harmful old patterns are.
He does this by revealing the heart of the Father.
He does this by inviting me to “see” the unquenchable, unconditional love the Father has for me.
The Spirit’s revelation of the Father awakens my desire to be loved and comforted in His Presence.
As I melt and surrender to His love, I enter into His freedom by grace alone –
I receive His healing, saving touch,
recognizing there is nothing my own effort brings to the exchange.
I discover…
I am complete IN Christ!
I am His and He is mine!
And He continues to bring freedom to each area of destructive patterns in my heart.
