Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Daily Prompt: The Heat is On

by Krista

Do you thrive under pressure or crumble at the thought of it? Does your best stuff surface as the deadline approaches or do you need to iterate, day after day to achieve something you’re proud of? Tell us how you work best.

A few days ago this Daily Prompt showed up in my Inbox. Although my schedule is crazy busy right now (I’m nearing the end of my four-year journey of earning my Masters degree in Counseling Psychology), this Prompt resonated with my situation and I really wanted to respond. So I did a copy and paste and put in my drafts to wait – until today.

Truly, the heat is on as my schooling nears the finish line. I had it all planned out. I was going to be completely finished on April 18th and start working right away in my chosen field, getting in the necessary hours for my full licensure. And then, there surfaced a crack in my perfect plan. The agency where I am doing my internship determined that they are not able to hire me at this time. Bummer! That was my perfect plan!

Added to that, I have had a few people I highly respect speak into my life. Those words began to take root. Words of challenge and encouragement to step into who I know I am, into my calling, and into the vision that has been being formed in me over the past 36 years. Yes, you read that right – 36 years.

And conversations began happening that invited me to dream and wonder and sparked a hope that had been buried pretty deeply in my heart due to disappointment and rejection.

And I began to wonder, almost to hope, that maybe, just maybe, I might be able to take the two classes I had been longing to take to finish up my studies. These are classes that have called to my heart, to my desire, to my hope of BEING ready to fully enter the transition from student to professional.

And now, THE HEAT IS ON!!!

I have to raise funds to cover the travel expenses connected to one of those courses that has called my name time and again – Special Topics: Listening to the Heartbeat of God – A Spiritual Pilgrimage to Iona. I’m going to Iona, Scotland! In less than 40 days!!! I have so much to do, including raising the $3500 needed to make this dream a reality!

I would love it if you would be willing to check out my GoFundMe campaign and consider investing in my dream with me! (And even if you are not able to donate a single dime at this time – you might be interested in my thoughts and reflections as I prepare for the journey of a lifetime.)

Here’s the link if you’re interested:

http://www.gofundme.com/Send-Lauree-to-Iona

